GREGOR KUSCHMIRZ
INFO   INDEX   DEUTSCH Shoot The Messenger! Carriers of bad news have always had a hard time, especially in ages, when messengers were the only source of information and those delivering bad news needed to fear for their lifes.

Today social networks are becoming a central information source and its us, who busily keep a system running, which still favours the positive and threatens the opponents of mass-positivism with social exclusion. By executing just too many carriers of bad news, Tigranes the Great first lost access to information and hence parts of his empire. What will be the consequence of the inexorable rule of good news within the digital mediasphere?

The selection shoot the messenger looks into the economy of the message and a the ever-changing use of media. A cental work is the other cheek, a kinetic installation made of two loudspeakers, which physically illustrate their sad news. Fried tapes tell about the passing of a technologie, while the interactive installation stock exchange of visions deals with the economy of attention.


The Other Cheek

The other cheek is a kinetic soundinstallation about hurt and retiliation. Sound and physical display of force and counterforce alternate in it´s tale of a nearly endless boxing match: Two loudspeakers circulate in opposite directions in a room. They regularly collide with each other in middle. The loudspeakers alternately respond to the impact by emitting a whining sound. Each time the howling turns into an aggressive scream, which is only stopped by the following collision. | mixed media, Cologne 2015/2017
KINETIC AUDIO INSTALLATION / SURROUND SOUND / MOURNING


200 Fried Tapes

The series is the result of a performance during which Gregor Kuschmirz deep-fried 200 VHS-tapes in sunflower oil. A disused medium tells about its end, even without reproduction technology. In addition 199 tapes contain the record of the frying process of their predecessors – an unseen documentation.
MEDIA BENDING PERFORMANCE / VIDEO HOME SYSTEM / RECORDED DEFORMATION


USB-Series

A series of 9 speculative sculptures. Each is equiped with a technical detail (a switch, an antenna or a nozzle) and an USB-wire, which serves as its stand only. | Mixed media, Cologne/Stuttgart, 2010/2011
CONNECTED THINGS / SPECULATIVE SCULPTURE / NON-INTERACTIVE / UNIVERSAL SERIAL BUS


Stock Exchange of Visions

The interactive installation and website invited visitors to reflect about the future of the planet through watching visionary statements by scientists, artists, designers and futurologists, such as Vandana Shiva, Joep van Lieshout, Bruce Mau and Richard Slaughter. The system measured the visitor´s demand for certain topics and charted the results in a stock-exchange-alike style. Stock Exchange of Vision premiered at FABRICAS exhibition »Les Yeux Ouverts« at Centre Pompidou in 2006 and later travelled to Triennale di Milano and Shanghai Art Museum. Its website got maintained until 2011.
INSTERACTIVE INSTALLATION / VIDEO DATA BASE / FABRICA / CENTRE POMPIDOU


vhs performance  video documentation of the frying performance | Stuttgart, 2007





Tatlin Race – Concept

A big loudspeaker on wheels circulates in a dark room. It sounds screeching voices of children, who imitate a motor race and squeaking tires. A video projector is mounted on top of the speaker. It displays a 3D-simulation of an endless ride inside of a drive-up of a multi-storey car park from a driver´s point of view.
VLADIMIR TATLIN / MULTIMEDIA-BASED NARRATION / KINETIC INSTALLTATION


Cellphone Voyages

With the objective of examinating our relationship with personal phones, a box full of cell phones was delivered to places of touristic interest, e.g. Heldenplatz in Vienna, Rambla in Barcelona or a pub in Dublin. The cell phones´ owners called their devices at an predecided point of time. The phones were silently answered and the owners listened alltogether to the ambience. | Barcelona/Basel/Dublin/Kassel/Stuttgart/Venice/Vienna, 2007
ALTERNATIVE VACATIONS / DIGITAL DETOX / EXTERNALISED IDENTITY
https://vimeo.com/246837926


The Other Cheek  video documentation of the first set-up | Cologne, 2017

HYPERPUBLIC

“HYPERPUBLIC” enquires the social functions and artistic potential of public space.
Location based Identity

The selection “Location based Identities” enquires the relevance of sites in the quest for identity.
Shopping is for poor people.

A selection about market economy and it´s effects on artistic production.
Rare Window

Rare Window puts videos and video installations into an aesthetic context.

GREGOR KUSCHMIRZ
INFO   INDEX   ENGLISH Shoot The Messenger! In der Antike musste der Überbringer schlechter Nachrichten um sein Leben bangen. Heute sind soziale Netzwerke eine Hauptnachrichtenquelle.

Wir selbst verrichten darin fleißig Botendienste. Und wieder haben es die Überbringer schlechter Nachrichten schwer, denn wie am es herrscht das Primat des Positiven. Dem, der sich der Vermassung des Positiven (Byung-Chul Han) entgegensetzt, der dem Negativen die Tür öffnet und Komplexität zulässt, droht im Netz der soziale Tod. Tigranes der Große soll durch allzu radikalen Umgang mit den Boten schlechter Kunde, zunächst den Zugang zur Information und in Folge dessen den Großteil seines Reiches eingebüßt haben. Was aber wird der Preis für die erbarmungslose Positivität der digitalen ‘mediasphere’ sein?

Die Auswahl “Shoot the messenger” setzt sich mit der Ökonomie der Botschaft und dem Wandel ihrer Kanäle auseinander. Im Zentrum steht die Arbeit “Die andere Wange”, eine Installation aus zwei kreisenden Lautsprechern, die ihre traurige Botschaft physisch werden lassen. Die "Fried Tapes" - frittierte Videokassetten - erzählen vom Ende einer Technologie, während es bei der "Stock Exchange of Visions" um Aufmerksamkeit als Währung geht.


Die andere Wange

'Die andere Wange' ist eine kinetische Klanginstallation über Schmerz und Vergeltung. In ihrer Erzählung eines schier endlosen Boxkampfes greifen mediale und mechanische Darstellung von Gewalt und Gegengewalt immerfort ineinander: Zwei Lautsprecher kreisen gegenläufig im Raum. In der Mitte stoßen sie regelmäßig heftig zusammen. Auf den Aufprall hin beginnen sie abwechselnd zu wimmern. Das Geheul schwillt zu einem aggressiven Schrei an, den der jeweils nächste Aufprall abrupt beendet. | mixed media, Köln, 2015/2017
KINETIC AUDIO INSTALLATION / PHYSICAL SOUND / MOURNING


200 Fried Tapes

Die Serie ist das Resultat einer Performance, bei der Gregor Kuschmirz 200 VHS-Kassetten in Sonnenblumenöl frittierte. Ein ausgedientes Medium erzählt von seinem Ende, auch ohne Abspieltechnik. 199 Kassetten bewahren zudem den Anblick des Frittierens ihrer jeweiligen Vorgängerin – eine nie gesehene Dokumentation.
MEDIA BENDING PERFORMANCE / VIDEO HOME SYSTEM / RECORDED DEFORMATION


USB-Series

Eine Serie aus 9 spekulativen Skulpturen, die jeweils über ein technisches Detail (einen Schalter, eine Antenne oder Düse) und ein USB-Kabel verfügen. Das Kabel dient dabei einzig als Ständer. | Mixed media, Köln/Stuttgart, 2010/2011
CONNECTED THINGS / SPECULATIVE SCULPTURE / NON-INTERACTIVE / UNIVERSAL SERIAL BUS


Stock Exchange of Visions

Die interaktive Installation und Internetseite bot Besuchern Zugang zu einer thematisch strukturierten Videodatenbank mit visianären Aussagen renomierter Wissenschaftler, Künstler, Designer und Zukunftsforscher, wie etwa Vandana Shiva, Joep van Lieshout, Bruce Mau and Richard Slaughter. Das System analysierte das Interesse für bestimmte Themen und stellte die Ergebnisse in einer Art Börsenästhetik dar. Die Stock Exchange of Vision war erstmals in der Ausstellung »Les Yeux Ouverts«, die FABRICA 2006 im Centre Pompidou zeigte, zu sehen und reiste im Anschluss zur Triennale di Milano und ins Shanghai Art Museum. Die dazugehörige Internetseite wurde von FABRICA noch bis 2011 betrieben.
INSTERACTIVE INSTALLATION / VIDEO DATA BASE / FABRICA / CENTRE POMPIDOU


VHS Performance  Videodokumentation der Frittier-Performance | Stuttgart, 2007





Tatlin Race - Konzept

Ein großer Lautsprecher kreist auf Rollen im Raum. Es erschallen schrille Kinderstimmen, die ein Autorennen und quietschende Reifen imitieren. Auf den Lautsprecher ist ein Videoprojektor montiert. Er wirft das Bild einer 3D-Animation an die Wand, das eine endlose Aufwärtsfahrt in der spiralförmigen Rampe eines Parkhauses aus Fahrerperspektive zeigt.
VLADIMIR TATLIN / MULTIMEDIA-BASED NARRATION / KINETIC INSTALLTATION


Cellphone Voyages

Mit dem Ziel unsere Beziehung zu unseren Mobiltelefonen zu untersuchen, wurde eine Kiste mit einigen Telefonen an Orte von touristischem Interesse gebracht, wie etwa zum Heldenplatz in Wien, der Rambla in Barcelona oder einem Pub in Dublin. Die Besitzer der Geräte wurden gebeten ihre Geräte an einem vereinbarten Zeitpunkt anzurufen. Die Anrufe wurden in Stille angenommen, so dass die Anrufer gemeinsam dem aktuellen Aufenthaltsort ihrer Telefone lauschen konnten. | Barcelona/Basel/Dublin/Kassel/Stuttgart/Venedig/Wien, 2007
ALTERNATIVE VACATIONS / DIGITAL DETOX / EXTERNALISED IDENTITY


Die andere Wange  Videodokumentation des ersten Aufbaus | Köln, 2017

HYPERPUBLIC

Die Auswahl “HYPERPUBLIC” stellt Arbeiten, die sich mit Öffentlichkeit behandeln, in einen Zusammenhang. Im Zentrum steht die “Schüchterne Kamera”.
Location based Identity

Die Auswahl “Location based Identities” fasst Arbeiten zusammen, die Orte, deren Eingrenzung und ihre identitätsstiftende Wirkung behandeln.
Shopping is for poor people.

Die Werke in “Shopping is for poor people” handeln auf unterschiedliche Weise vom Konsum.
Rare Window

Rare Window stellt Videoarbeiten aus den Jahren 2003 bis 2017 in einen ästhetischen Zusammenhang.