GREGOR KUSCHMIRZ
INFO   INDEX   DEUTSCH HYPERPUBLICITY Privacy erodes. Paralysed by terroristic attacks and excessive access to information, we accept the ubiquitous installation of surveillance technologies.

Debates about societal effects of mass surveillance are rarely taking place. Seduced by some free services, we present the big data collectors with our social network, our shopping habbits and our personal interests. There is a general, unpleasant feeling when rushing through click-through-agreements, but that´s basically it. We witness China´s social credit system and some eastern European states moving towards a dark past, but are not afraid of such a shift being able to happen to our democratic governments. And if so – what should an innocent citizen like me be afraid of at all?

The selection HYPERPUBLIC puts works about public issues in a larger context. The shy camera, an interactive installation, broaches most prominently the issue of surveillance. Kuschmirz comments on unrestrained photo-narcissism within social media platforms, by uploading pictures of public trash, while the begging robot Baksheeshboy picks out public empathy as its central theme.


Shy Camera I + II

An interactive installation about the human need of being noticed: a surveillance camera, which is attached to the ceiling, turns away from anyone coming into its field of vision. It interrupts the video transmission to a nearby screen, if surrounded by people.
Shy Camera has been been presented for the first time in 2007, but premiered at Vergüenza, an exhibition curated by Ana Ara at La Casa Encendida, Madrid, 2013. | mixed electronics, Stuttgart/Cologne/Madrid, 2007/2013

CCTV / INTERACTIVE INSTALLATION / SURVEILLANCE


Public Trash

The publication public trash shows 60 photographs, which were taken in urban areas around the world - such as Tokyo, Buenos Aires, Rome and Berlin - from 2009 to 2014. The series of trash photography started as a response to the flow of uploaded imagery on Facebook. The book has been a part of the performance market day II, which took place during its release. | concept/photography, StrzeleckiBooks, 2009-2013
LOCAL PECULIARITIES / PRIVATE RESIDUES / STREET GARBAGE


BaksheeshBoy

The interactive, begging robot BaksheeshBoy reacts through hidden cameras with pedestrians, asks them via loudspeakers for a donation and thanks by playing back snippets of songs by Elvis Presley. It is the result of a collaboration of Moritz Schmidt and Gregor Kuschmirz and got for first in touch with the public at "Creative Weekend" in Madrid. | Mixed Media, Stuttgart/Madrid, 2009
PUBLIC SPACE / SOCIAL MACHINES / BEGGING


Friendly Fire

a series of 15 (+5) couples | prints on cardboard and electronics, Olympia/Cologne, 2013/2014
LIGHT-EMITTING DIODES / PERVASIVE RECORDING / SMALL-SCALE SCULPTURE

1-3: according to Markus Schroer in Bild - Raum - Kontrolle, Hempel/Metelmann (Ed.), Suhrkamp, 2005


Y-junction

Y-junction would be a monumental kinetic sculpture for public places. Visitors, who walk inside of one of its tubes, would turn the sculpture verbatim upside down – a play about the power of gravity and the fascination of changing perspectives.
Three tetragonal tubes bow upwards with an angle of 120° between each other. Each tube is a 120°-segment of a circle. Y-junction moves accordingly to the movement of one or several visitors inside of it. The sculpture would be balanced in any possible position and would move within a Y-shaped floorspace. | concept, Treviso/Stuttgart, 2007

CHANGE IN PERSPECTIVES / INTERACTIVE SCULPTURE / PUBLIC SPACE


Selfie TV – in Arbeit

Voluntary self-monitoring replaces governmental security measures. Selfie TV, an intervention in public space, pulls self-stellt selfishness and surveillance together.
CCTV / EGOCENTRISM / PUBLIC INTERVENTION / SELF TRACKING


The Shy Cam  video documentation of its first set-up | Madrid, 2013.
Shoot the Messenger!

The compilation “Shoot the Messenger!” deals with the cultural impact of various means of communication.
Location based Identity

The selection “Location based Identities” enquires the relevance of sites in the quest for identity.
Shopping is for poor people.

A selection about market economy and it´s effects on artistic production.
Rare Window

Rare Window puts videos and video installations into an aesthetic context.

GREGOR KUSCHMIRZ
INFO   ARCHIV   ENGLISH HYPERPUBLICITY Unsere Privatsphäre erodiert. Gelähmt von terroristischen Attacken nehmen wir die Ausstattung unserer Städte und öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel mit Überwachungstechnologie teilnahmslos hin.

Debatten über die gesellschaftlichen Folgen davon finden kaum statt. Mit wem wir wie gut bekannt sind, wofür wir uns persönlich interessieren und wann wir wo was einkaufen, legen wir den großen Datensammlern – verführt von kostenlosen Dienstleistungen und kleinsten Vergünstigungen – offen dar. Bedenken, dass all die Erkenntnisse und der weitreichende Überwachungsapparat selbst in die Hände eines totalitäre Regimes fallen könnten oder Regierungen zur übermäßigen Kontrolle ihrer Bürger verleiten könnten, kommen kaum auf. Es jubiliert der geschichtsvergessene Satz: “Was soll´s. Ich habe mir ja nichts zu Schulden kommen lassen.”

Die Auswahl “HYPERPUBLIC” stellt Arbeiten, die sich mit Öffentlichkeit behandeln, in einen Zusammenhang. Im Zentrum steht die “Schüchterne Kamera”. Durch den Upload von "Public Trash", einer endlosen Fotoserie von Müll in der Öffentlichkeit, kommentiert Kuschmirz die Verstopfung der digitalen, sozialen Netze durch hemmungslosen Fotonarzismus während Schmidt und Kuschmirz sich mit ihrem bettenlden Baksheeshboy mit Empathie in der Öffentlichkeit auseinandersetzen.


Die Schüchterne Kamera I + II

Eine interaktive Installation über das menschliche Bedürfnis wahrgenommen zu werden: eine Überwachungskamera, die von der Decke herab hängt, wendet sich ab, sobald jemand ihr Sichtfeld betritt. Wenn die Kamera von Menschen umringt ist, unterbricht sie das Videosignal, das an einen Bildschirm in der Nähe gesendet wird.
Die schüchterne Kamera wurde 2007 erstmals vorgestellt und 2013 im Rahmen der von Ana Ara kuratierten Ausstellung Vergüenza, in 'La Casa Encendida', Madrid, ausgestellt. | mixed electronics, Stuttgart/Köln/Madrid, 2007/2013

CCTV / INTERACTIVE INSTALLATION / SURVEILLANCE


Public Trash

Das kleine Buch Public Trash zeigt 60 Fotos informeller Müllhaufen im städtischen Raum. Der Müll wurde zwischen 2009 und 2013 in verschiedenen Ecken der Welt gefunden, zB. in Tokio, Buenos Aires, Rom und Berlin und war ursprünglich – als Upload auf Facebook – eine Reaktion auf die Flut privater Bilder in digitalsozialen Netzwerken. Im Rahmen der Veröffentlichung war das Buch später Bestandteil der Performance Market Day II. | concept/photography, StrzeleckiBooks, 2009-2013
LOCAL PECULIARITIES / PRIVATE RESIDUES / STREET GARBAGE


BaksheeshBoy

Der interaktive, bettelnde Roboter Baksheeshboy reagiert durch versteckte Kameras auf Passanten und bittet diese via Lautsprecher um eine Spende für die er sich mit kurzen Ausschnitten aus Elvis Presley-Liedern bedankt. Die interaktive Skulptur ist das Resultat der Zusammenarbeit von Moritz Schmidt und Gregor Kuschmirz und kam erstmals 2009 auf dem "Creative Weekend" in Madrid zum Einsatz. | Mixed Media, Stuttgart/Madrid, 2009
PUBLIC SPACE / SOCIAL MACHINES / BEGGING


Friendly Fire

15 (+5) Pappaufsteller-Paare | Fotoabzüge auf Karton und Elektronik, Olympia/Köln, 2013/2014
LIGHT-EMITTING DIODES / PERVASIVE RECORDING / SMALL-SCALE SCULPTURE


Y-junction

Y-junction wäre eine monumentale, bewegliche Skulptur für den öffentlichen Raum. Neugierige, die sich in eine der vierkantigen Röhren begeben, würden die Skulptur durch ihr Gewicht und ihre Bewegung im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes auf den Kopft stellen – ein Spiel mit Erdanziehungskraft und Perspektivwechseln.
Drei rechteckige, begehbare Röhren biegen sich in einem 120°-Winkel zueinander nach oben. Jede Röhre entspricht dem Drittel eines Kreissegmentes. Y-junction wäre in jeder möglichen Position im Gleichgewicht und würde sich innerhalb einer Y-förmigen Grundfläche bewegen. | Konzept, Treviso/Stuttgart, 2007

CHANGE IN PERSPECTIVES / INTERACTIVE SCULPTURE / PUBLIC SPACE


Selfie TV – in Arbeit

Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle ersetzt staatliche Sicherheitsinstanzen. Selfie TV, eine Intervention im öffentlichen Raum, stellt Selbst- und Fremdüberwachung in einen Zusammenhang.
CCTV / EGOCENTRISM / PUBLIC INTERVENTION / SELF TRACKING


Die schüchterne Kamera  Videodokumentation der ersten Version | Madrid, 2013.
Shoot the Messenger!

Die Auswahl “Shoot the Messenger!” setzt sich mit der Ökonomie der Botschaft und dem Wandel ihrer Kanäle auseinander.
Location based Identity

Die Auswahl “Location based Identities” fasst Arbeiten zusammen, die Orte, deren Eingrenzung und ihre identitätsstiftende Wirkung behandeln.
Shopping is for poor people.

Die Werke in “Shopping is for poor people” handeln auf unterschiedliche Weise vom Konsum.
Rare Window

Rare Window stellt ab Ende Januar Videoarbeiten aus den Jahren 2003 bis 2017 in einen ästhetischen Zusammenhang.