GREGOR KUSCHMIRZ
INFO   INDEX   DEUTSCH Shopping is for
poor people.
What and where to buy has become the basic means of cultural expression for most people in industrial imprinted regions.

We hardly ever express ourselves, our group membership, political viewpoint or feelings by dance, music or poetry, but by buying certain clothing, culinary preferences and travelling to hip spots and remote places. Next to the time it takes up to earn the money for such, it also needs time to train one´s senses for newly emerging trends and to spot the next hip destination, time, which instead could have been used e.g. to play a musical instrument or to learn how to tell stories in a notably imaginative way. The increase of buying options and information about products and services complicates decision taking, but rarely really improves those decisions. It seems that, once basic needs are met, quality of life improves dispropotionately to the amount of daily buying decisions.

The works in the selection shopping is for poor people deal in different ways with aspects of market economy. The performance I won’t sell these things took place on a flea market, where Kuschmirz has confronted the public with his most beloved belongings. A billboard calls attention to global trade in the painting Saignon 7, while gigantic pedestrians walk through an urban centre in the foreground. Sales rack turns human flesh into a good for resale and the series doorplates turns fragments taken from sales checks into potential store signs.
 
Saigon 7

An acrylic painting about global commerce in urban centres and the impact of algorithms on artistic working conditions:
Before being painted, the motive has been digitally processed in such a way that less artistic skill was needed for it´s realisation, but many more working hours – in comparison to tradiontional painting.| acrylic on wood, 160x80cm, Cologne, 2015/2016

CULTURAL ASSIMILATION / FEDEX / PAINTED ALGORITHMS
 
I won´t sell these things.

A performance and public exhibition of the artist´s best belongings, which took place at a weekly flea-market on Karlsplatz in Stuttgart.
I won ́t sell these things questions the value of personal belongings for individuals by triggering conversations about the flea market economy. | performance, Stuttgart, 2007

DEAD STOCK / FLEA MARKET / PERSONAL BELONGINGS
 
Doorplates

A series of panels, which display excerpts from sales checks. Via leaving all numbers out they appear like poems about commerce. The typography got unified, while the colors refer to vietnamese street signs and doorplates. | engraved and colored plexiglass, 35 x 48cm, Ho Chi Min City, 2010
POETRY OF COMMERCE / VIETNAMESE SIGNBOARDS / VOUCHER ART
 
Things I own twice

A balanced arrangement of some of the artist´s personal belongings. | Various things, Cairo, 2008
BELONGINGS / SYMMETRY / WEALTH
 
sales rack (Verkaufsregal)

Synthetic human flesh and organs for sale – budget series.
| screen printing and varnish on packaging + rack, Munich, 2002

ALTERNATIVE CANNIBALISM / ECOLOGIC FOOTPRINT / SYNTHETIC MEAT
1 - 3 according to César Rendueles, Soziophobie, edition suhrkamp, 2015
 
censored bags

A series of shopping bags, which have been differently blackened. | Cairo/Rome/Ho Chi Minh City, 2008-2010
CONSUMER CULTURE / EDDING ART/ UNMASKING BY MASKING
 
All Inclusive-Series

The series could be interpreted as a comment on market-driven art production. It combines abstract painting, photorealistic crowds, clouds copied from old dutch landscape paintings and neon faces with conceptual titles (engraved acrylic plates) on a medium, which are partly canvas, pastly sculpture. Reoccuring elements offer clients a nice range of possible combinations. | 10 paintings, acrylic on wood constructions, 49x64x4cm, Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart, 2005/2006
ACRYLIC PAITNING / ART MARKET / CUSTOM TAILORED MASS PRODUCTION
Shoot the Messenger!

The compilation “Shoot the Messenger!” deals with the cultural impact of various means of communication.
HYPERPUBLIC

“HYPERPUBLIC” enquires the social functions and artistic potential of public space.
Location based Identity

The selection “Location based Identities” enquires the relevance of sites in the quest for identity.
Rare Window

Rare Window puts videos and video installations into an aesthetic context.

GREGOR KUSCHMIRZ
INFO   INDEX   ENGLISH Shopping is for
poor people.
Der Geldbeutel ist heute für die meisten Bewohner industriell hoch entwickelter Staaten das kulturelle Ausdrucksmittel Nummer Eins.

Nicht durch Tanz, Musik oder Poesie drücken wir unsere Gruppenzugehörigkeit, unsere politischen Standpunkte und momentanen Befindlichkeiten aus, sondern durch modische Kleidung, kulinarische Vorlieben und Reisen in angesagte Städte oder besonders abgelegene Weltgegenden. All das kostet Geld, aber auch Zeit, denn das Gespühr für aufkommende Trends und angesagte Orte will ähnlich trainiert sein, wie das Spiel eines Musikinstruments oder fantasievolles Erzählen. Durch die Zunahme der Warenvielfalt und der Informationen die uns bei jedem Kauf zugänglich sind, werden unsere Entscheidungen komplexer und zeitintensiver, aber nur selten wirklich besser. Wahrer Reichtum besteht heute insofern auch darin überhaupt keine Kaufentscheidungen fällen zu müssen.

Die Werke in Shopping is for poor people handeln auf unterschiedliche Weise vom Konsum. Mit seiner Performance “I won´t sell these things” konfrontierte Kuschmirz die Menschen auf einem Flohmarkt mit seinen liebsten und damit für ihn unverkäuflichen Dingen. Im Gemälde “Saigon 7” lenkt ein großflächiges Poster den Blick auf den globalen Warenverkehr, während im Vordergrund riesenhafte Menschen durch eine Stadtlandschaft stapfen. Verkaufsregal macht den Menschen als handelsübliches Lebensmittel für Kanibalen zur Ware und in der Serie Doorplates werden Fragmente aus Kassenzetteln zu Aushängeschildern möglicher Konsumorte.
 
Saigon 7

Ein Acrylgemälde über den innerstädtischen Fussabdruck des globalen Warenverkehrs und den Einfluss von Algorithmen auf die künstlerische Produktion:
Das fotografische Motiv wurde, bevor es gemalt wurd in einer Weise behandelt, dass die Übertragung mittels Pinsel und Farbe kaum noch künstlerisches Handwerk, aber deutlich mehr Zeit beanspruchte, als eine traditionelle Umsetzung.| Acryl auf Holz, 160x80cm, Köln, 2015/2016

CULTURAL ASSIMILATION / FEDEX / PAINTED ALGORITHMS
 
I won´t sell these things.

Eine Performance und öffentliche Zurschaustellung von Kuschmirz´ liebsten Besitztümern auf dem wöchentlichen Karlsplatz-Flohmarkt in Stuttgart.
I won ́t sell these things (Dinge, die ich nicht verkaufen möchte) fragte nach dem Wert persönlicher Dinge und regte eine Auseinandersetzung mit der Flohmarktwirtschaft an. | Performance, Stuttgart, 2007

DEAD STOCK / FLEA MARKET / PERSONAL BELONGINGS
 
Doorplates

Eine Serie poetischer Paneele, die Textauszüge aus Kassenzetteln zeigen und in ihrer Farbigkeit Bezug auf vietnamesische Straßen- und Türschilder nehmen. | Graviertes und gefärbtes Plexiglas, 35 x 48cm, Ho Chi Min City, 2010
POETRY OF COMMERCE / VIETNAMESE SIGNBOARDS / VOUCHER ART
 
Things I own twice

Ein achsensymmetrische Anordnung aller Dinge, die im Kairoer Haushalt des Künstlers mehrfach vorhanden waren. | Verschiedene Dinge, Kairo, 2008
BELONGINGS / SYMMETRY / WEALTH
 
Verkaufsregal

Synthetisches Menschenfleisch und menschliche Organe – die Billigversion | Siebdruck und Lack auf Verpackungeng, Glasregal, Salz und Pfeffer, München, 2002
ALTERNATIVE CANNIBALISM / ECOLOGIC FOOTPRINT / SYNTHETIC MEAT
1 - 3 nach César Rendueles, Soziophobie, edition suhrkamp, 2015
 
Censored Bags

Eine Serie unterschiedlich geschwärzter Einkaufstüten. | Kairo/Rom/Ho-Chi-Minh-City, 2008-2010
CONSUMER CULTURE / EDDING ART/ UNMASKING BY MASKING
 
All Inclusive-Series

Die Reihe ist leicht als Kommentar zur marktorientierten Kunstproduktion zu interpretieren. Auf Konstruktionen, die halb als Leinwand, halb als Skulptur erscheinen, sind Elemente abstrakter Malerei mit photorealistischen Menschenmengen, Wolken holländischer Landschaftsmalerei, grellen Gesichtern und konzeptionellen Titeln (graviert in Plastikschildchen) miteinander verbunden. Sich in unterschiedlicher Kombination wiederholende Elemente bieten dem Käufer ein breites Spektrum an Wahlmöglichkeiten. | 10 bemalte Objekte, Acryl auf Holzkonstruktionen, je 49x64x4cm, Ludwigsburg/Stuttgart, 2005/2006
ACRYLIC PAITNING / ART MARKET / CUSTOM TAILORED MASS PRODUCTION
Shoot the Messenger!

Die Auswahl “Shoot the Messenger!” setzt sich mit der Ökonomie der Botschaft und dem Wandel ihrer Kanäle auseinander.
HYPERPUBLIC

Die Auswahl “HYPERPUBLIC” stellt Arbeiten, die sich mit Öffentlichkeit behandeln, in einen Zusammenhang. Im Zentrum steht die “Schüchterne Kamera”.
Location based Identity

Die Auswahl “Location based Identities” fasst Arbeiten zusammen, die Orte, deren Eingrenzung und ihre identitätsstiftende Wirkung behandeln.
Rare Window

Rare Window stellt Videoarbeiten aus den Jahren 2003 bis 2017 in einen ästhetischen Zusammenhang.